# Minutes of THE NORTH DAKOTA CUTTING HORSE ASSOCIATION, INC. ANNUAL MEETING January 13, 2018

#### Call To Order:

The annual meeting of The North Dakota Cutting Horse Association was held at the Ramada, Bismarck, North Dakota on January 13, 2018. The meeting convened at 2:20pm with President Robby Hansen presiding and Natalie Miller, secretary.

#### Roll Call:

Members present: Ginny Eck, Chase Dauenhauer, Tony Dauenhauer, Darrell Parsons, Shawna Parsons, Robby Hansen, LaVon Stoppleworth, Zac Crane, Natalie Miller, Saige Feilmeier, Marcy Feilmeier, Bill Miller, Mikaela Miller, Clint Schultz, Mike Smith, Bob Bahm, Val Bahm, Tyler Bahm, Jim Neshem, Bill Retterath, Justin Retterath, Bob Haider, Zane Wicks, Mark Larson, Nancy Bjork, Heather Sutton and Georgia Sutton.

## Approval of Minutes:

Motion by Darrell Parsons and second by Val Bahm to approve the minutes of the January 18, 2017 Annual Membership Meeting. Motion carried.

# Treasurer Report:

The 2017 financial report was reviewed. Motion by Bill Retterath and second by Darrell Parsons to accept the financial report. Motion carried.

# Reports of Officers and Committees:

**2017 Shows:** The Cutting West show was held with 145 entries. The Bismarck show had 153 entries. The Medora show was cancelled.

**Awards Committee:** The 2017 year end standings are available on the website and members received an email to review. Awards were ordered from Molly's Custom Silver, one award is not available for distribution tonight.

**Sponsorship Committee:** Natalie Miller reported that sponsorships included \$1700, buckle and in-kind donations.

**Nominating Committee:** Zac Crane reported expiring Director terms are Robby Hansen, Darrell Parsons and Ginny Eck. There are also 2 resignations: Melissa Chruszch and Holly Gaugler. The nominating committee submitted Robby, Darrell, Mark Larson, Bill Miller and Chase Dauenhauer as candidates for the director's positions to the general membership via e-mail. President Robby Hansen called for nominations from the floor to fill the resignations, whose term expire in 2019. Darrell nominated Mark Larson, second by Bill Retterath. Bill Retterath nominated Chase Dauenhauer, second by Zac Crane. Darrell Parsons

motioned for nominations to cease and case a unanimous decision. Second by Bill Retterath. Motion carried.

President Robby Hansen called for nomination for directors whom terms are expiring. Zac Crane nominated Robby, second by Mikaela Miller. Mark Lason nominated Darrell Parsons, second by Zac Crane. Zac Crane nominated Justin Retterath, second by Mark Larson. Val Bahm nominated Bob Bahm. LaVonne Stoppleworth nominated Bill Miller, second by Mikaela Miller. Nancy Bjork motioned for nominations to cease, second by Darrell. Motion carried.

After a paper ballot vote, President Robby Hansen announced that Darrell Parsons, Justin Retterath and Robby Hansen were elected to the Board of Directors.

**Information Technology Committee:** Natalie reported that the website was updated in December and will now work with smart phones. Chase Dauenhauer reported that he, Saige and Zac have Facebook administration roles.

501c3: Natalie reported that Holly Gaugler filed taxes in May 2017.

#### **Old Business:**

There was no old business to present.

#### **New Business:**

#### **Appointment of 2017 Committees:**

Awards: President Robby Hansen appointed Natalie Miller and Saige Feilmeier.

Nominating: Darrell nominated Justin Retterath, second by Chase. Motion carried.

Sponsorship: Clint nominated Chase Dauenhauer, second by Shawna Parsons. Motion carried.

501c3: President Robby Hansen reported Holly Gaugler is willing to continue filing income tax.

Information Technology: Chase Dauenhauer, Zac Crane and Sagie Feilmeier stated they were willing to continue as Facebook IT committee. Natalie Miller is willing to continue with website.

#### **Proposed shows for 2017:**

President Robby Hansen reported that the board discussed the following shows: Fargo, April 28-29. Mike Smith in charge. Motion by Chase Dauenhauer and second by Mikaela Miller to proceed with this show. Motion carried.

Bowman, June 23-24. Natalie Miller in charge.

Minot, sometime before June 10 depending on rental fees and State Fair August 28-29. Jim Neshem and Val Bahm in charge.

Bismarck, date depending on cattle, Walt Neun's. Robby Hansen in charge. Medora – August 18-19. John Hovde in charge.

Membership input: Prefer holding in Bismarck over Bowman. Prefer holding at State Fair over Bismarck in July.

Motion by Shawna Parsons to change the fee structure on used cattle classes to earn the entry fee back if you win first place and there are 4 in the class. Second by Mikaela Miller. Motion carried.

Motion by Heather Sutton to table further decisions until more information is available. Second by John Hovde, motion carried.

#### NDHSRA:

Robby Hansen reported that the board approved NDCHA to sponsor the buckle for North Dakota High School Rodeo Cutting event as has been done in the past and to pay the NDCHA and NCHA youth membership for a NDHSRA member if they show at one of the NDCHA shows.

#### Area 6 Shootout:

President Robby Hansen reported that the board decided to continue participation in A6S. A6S recommendation to committee is to have 2 weekends approved in SD, 2 in ND and 2 by Rooster Rush in Mn. Participants would need to attend 50% in each state.

#### Bylaws:

Motion by Bob Bahm to amend the bylaws with \$500 Novice Rider name change to \$1000 Novice Rider. Second by Darrell Parsons. Motion carried.

Motion by Bob Bahm to amend the bylaws by adding to the \$1000 Novice Horse "Open rider may ride any horse. A NonPro, Amateur or regular membership rider must own the horse." Second by Nancy Bjork. Motion carried.

Motion by Val Bahm to amend the bylaws by changing the name of the 250 Snaffle Bit to \$250 2 Handed Ranch Horse with the statement "Open rider may ride any horse. A NonPro, Amateur or regular membership rider must own the horse." Second my Nancy Bjork. Motion carried.

Motion by Darrell Parsons, second by Mark Larson to modify the bylaws by changing the Never Won a Buckle name to Never Won A Buckle Rider with a \$750 earning limit. Motion carried.

#### NDCHA Awards:

Turn back Horse of the Year: Howard was nominated by Saige Feilmeier and Tank by Clint Schultz. Mike Smith motioned for nominations to cease, second by Bill Retterath. Motion carried.

Most Improved Cutter: Chase nominated Toni Dauenhauer. Saige nominated Clint Schultz. Darrell Parsons motioned for nominations to cease. Second by Mark Larson. Motion carried.

Sportsmanship Award: Clint Schultz nominated Darrell Parsons. Darrell Parsons refused nomination. Darrell Parsons nominated Ginny Eck and asked to cast a unanimous ballot. Second by Bill Miller. Motion carried.

Paper ballots were cast with Howard being turnback horse of the year and Toni Dauenhauer most improved cutter.

## NCHA updates:

Heather Sutton reported that NCHA will now require a banner to be hung in the arena if you have a practice pen or flag stating rule 34.

A poster regarding zero tolerance is also required to be posted at all shows.

## **Adjournment:**

Motion by Nancy Bjork with second by Mike Smith to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 4:15pm

Natalie Miller, NDCHA secretary
•
Robby Hansen, NDCHA president